Undermining hope: The toxic legacy of a pointless leadership election

Ramblings of an Ordinary Man

jeremy-corbyn-rallies-supporters-in-liverpool

A year ago today Jeremy Corbyn was elected, by a landslide, as leader of the Labour Party. It was the culmination of a remarkable campaign that had galvanised hundreds of thousands of ordinary people to join the Labour Party, or register as supporters. After the grim despondency of the General Election a great tide of hope emerged, and I am proud to say that I was one of those swept along in its wake.

I can remember the day well. I had taken the train into town, in order to join a ‘refugees welcome’ rally, but I had only one thing on my mind; the special conference to announce the winner of Labour’s leadership election. Corbyn had begun as a rank outsider, owing his place on the ballot to a desire to ensure at least the appearance of a broad church. Nobody actually expected him to win. In fact so…

View original post 1,287 more words

